Hipster’s Paradise: Medina Cafe

The first thing you need to know about Medina Cafe is that you’re going to have to line up for a long while, anywhere from 30 minutes to 2 hours. If you are dedicated to your goal, you can withstand the vagaries of time until finally the food is before you. However, if you’re really hungry and want to eat at Medina, grab a snack beforehand otherwise you’re going to be really sad smelling all the deliciousness without being able to taste any of them.

What makes Medina Cafe so popular? The food? The atmosphere? The friendliness of the staff? All three? Honestly, while I do appreciate all three things mentioned, I’m not sure I would be willing to line up for that long more than once. No actually, I wouldn’t. Even after they moved to a much bigger location on Richards Street right by the central VPL, the line ups exist–in fact, they have gotten even longer. I feel like Medina Cafe is a good example of hipster Vancouver. It’s cool to eat there and the food is good, don’t get me wrong, but the cool factor is higher. So Teng and I were cool and cold and hungry but we finally got a spot at the bar and had food. This was early in the morning in the summer of 2015.

Medina 2

“Fricassée Champignon
2 Fried Eggs, Sherry Roasted Mushroom Ragout, Spice Roasted Potatoes, Caramelized Onions, Applewood Smoked Cheddar, Seasonal Greens with Grilled Focaccia”

I didn’t really like this the first time I ate it (this was before I went with Teng which has been the last time I was there) but the second time around I enjoyed it a great deal more. This might be because we did wait for two hours and I was starved by the time I got the food but it was delicious and filling.

Medina 3

“Saumon Fumé
1 Fried Egg, Smoked Wild Salmon Cream Cheese, Avocado, Organic Greens, Sweety Drop Peppers & Artichoke Salad on Grilled Ciabatta”

The egg is missing from this picture. Apologies. I had this on a previous outing to Medina Cafe and while this is delicious, it’s not very filling and if you have a hearty appetite, I recommend getting something else to go with this because otherwise you will still be hungry after the meal and no one wants that.

Medina 1

Medina Cafe does waffles really well and the sauces they provide are extremely delicious. These are lighter than you would think but it’s a bit too much after the Fricassée Champignon or was for me anyway.

Still, if you are coming to Vancouver for the food, I do recommend checking out Medina Cafe. It’s vibrant and electric with food that balances taste with healthiness as is the West Coast way.

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

