With Some Garlic, Please

It won’t surprise anyone that despite my overflowing love for food,  I am not very much of a cook. I suppose that to some extent this can be attributed to have an excellent cook for a mom (why fix what’s broken?) but also that even though I am Indian, I am not really a fan of Indian food. Is that weird?

It is only when I discovered other cuisine that I discovered a desire to try recreating them–to mixed results, I must add. Generally though, I know what tastes well together and what doesn’t. Yesterday I went and bought some groceries and because it was just going to be my parents and I (my cousin popped in later) for dinner, I figured I’d try making something.

So I did and oh my gosh it tasted excellent. And okay, I admit it wasn’t that big of a feat (I am no chef) but I figure if you are like me and appreciate easy to make and please dishes, you will want the recipe (of the vague arm-waving sort I always offer).

Recipe (or something like it)

  • Basa fillet (honestly whatever fish is fine)
  • Teriyaki sauce (store bought is fine)
  • Onions (thinly sliced)
  • Pepper
  • Salt
  • Chili (optional)
  • Garlic (most important!) (peeled and pureed)

Method

  • Peel and puree the garlic. You can use as much or as little as you want. I love garlic so I used lots.
  • Smother the fish pieces with garlic (and salt and pepper to your taste). Set aside for at least ten minutes so the fish can be infused with flavour.
  • Heat some oil in a pan. Pan fry the garlic-infused fish pieces until they are half cooked.
  • Remove pieces from the pan and set aside. Empty entire bottle of teriyaki sauce into the pan and add the pieces of fish to it.
  • Cook for ten to 12 minutes.
  • Remove the contents of the pan into another dish and caramelize the thinly sliced onions.

I served the fish on rice with the onions on top to give a bite to the dish. It was amazingly delicious. This makes for an easy and delicious dinner.

Leave a Reply

