Breakfast on Cambie at Yolks

Hello! *tap, tap* Is this thing still on?

First of all, I apologize for disappearing! Being sick and dealing with a bunch of deadlines in the New Year is not fun and it took me longer than I thought to recover. Also, looking through the blog, I was shocked to realize that we do not have a post about Yolks, the cute and super busy little breakfast/brunch haven that started from a food truck and now have two brick-and-mortar stores in Vancouver.

It’s handled and the yolk was good.

Let’s start with the sweet stuff.

This was the special of the day: Crusty french toast with blueberry cheesecake. Isn’t it pretty? I admit, I’m a girl that prefers french toast to be soft and pudgy and leaning on the bread pudding side. But this was phenomenal. The breaded crust added some crunch to the soft and pudgy french toast, which turned out to be a great counter to the liberally applied blueberry cream cheese on top. The cream cheese concoction was surprisingly light, subtly sweet and not artery-clogging at all. This is really indulgent, I only ate half of the french toast and felt more than satisfied.

The star of Yolks. I adore Yolks’ menu concept. They give you different options to build your own benny. Yolks do offer other breakfast choices like chicken and waffle and such, but seriously, if you have a chance to build your own benny? Build the benny. I got mine with hollandaise sauce(because I don’t make this at home), avocado with spinach and lemon and their absolutely delicious truffle-lemon hashbrowns. True, swapping the English muffin for their hashbrowns results in an extra charge, but these hashbrowns are so goood, I think it’s worth it. The poached eggs were perfectly soft and runny, and just added more richness to the hollandaise sauce that was creamy, tangy and not too cheesy. The hashbrowns were money, who knew truffle and lemon paired so well together? The one thing I did not like was that my avocados were a little brown. I know they are still edible, but it’s a little disappointing to see the sad ‘cados with the little brown spots.

I will most likely return, just because I love breakfast food and breakfast is the most important meal of the day. However, I didn’t realize that we were not allowed to mix and match our benny choices, like having one poached egg with portobello mushroom and another with smoked salmon. It’s not a big deal, but it does limit the range of choices you can have to customize your benny.

Leave a Reply

